SHRINES OF HOLY HIERARCHS

Close

Tombstone over the burial places of Cyprian and Photius, the metropolitansIn the south-west part of the Cathedral there are tombs of two Metropolitans - Cyprian (died in 1406) and Photius (died in1431). The tombs are situated under one metal gravestone, near the ciborium for the Holy Sepulchre. Both of them, a Serb and a Greek, made a great influence on Russian culture and history of the Assumption Cathedral. Cyprian has amended Russian Liturgical regulation, created a vast “Life of the Saint” and “Service to Metropolitan Peter”. During his tenure a miraculous icon of "Our Lady of Vladimir" was brought to Moscow from the city of Vladimir. A gold chased cover was made for the icon. Metropolitan Photius restored the National treasury, which had been ruined during the invasion of Tokhtamysh. He ordered the Greek masters, who come to Russia along with him, to make a new gold filigree cover for the Vladimir icon and a precious Altar Gospel with miniatures and chased gold cover (nowadays they can be seen at the exposition of the Armoury Chamber).

Shrine of Metropolitan Philip II with a canopyCiborium and the tombstones over the burial places of patriarchs at the west wall of the CathedralShrine of Metropolitan Jonah with a canopy

At the north wall, to the east of Metropolitan Jonah reliquary, there are tombs of four metropolitans: Philip I (died in 1473), who began reconstructing the Assumption Cathedral, Geronty (died in 1489), during whose ministration the new building of the Cathedral was completed, Simon (died in 1511) and Makary (died in 1563). Makary was the prominent ideologist and adviser to the young Ivan the Terrible. He organized and created grand literary projects: the "Illustrated Chronicle of Ivan the Terrible" and the "Great Menology" (Velikiye Chet’yi-Minei), which was a joint compilation of Orthodox Saints’ hagiographies. Besides, Makary was an icon-painter and a founder of the famous icon-painting workshop in Kremlin.

Along south and west walls of the Cathedral are tombs of the next Patriarchs: Filaret (Feodor Romanov, 1554-1633, father and mentor of the young Tsar Mikhail Romanov), Ioasaf I (died in 1640), Joseph (died in 1652) and Job (died in 1607).

Job was elected the first Russian Patriarch in 1589 during the reign of Tsar Feodor Ioanovich. After the fall of the Byzantine Empire and the conquest of Orthodox Balkan countries by the Turks, rich and independent of foreign domination the Russian Church for the first time declared itself as an equal among ancient Orthodox churches. After the death of Boris Godunov, Job fought against the impostor, False Dmitry the First. As a result, the Patriarch was deprived dignity and sent into exile, where he died in 1607. His relics were transferred to the Assumption Cathedral by the order of Patriarch Nikon in 1652.

At the west wall there are tombs of four more Patriarchs: Ioasaf II (died in 1672), Pitirim (died in 1673), Ioakim (died in 1690) and Adrian (died in 1700). Pitirim contributed to the establishment of the first higher educational institution in Russia, the Slavonic-Greek-Latin Academy, founded by two Greek Likhud brothers in 1685. Adrian was the last Patriarch, as Peter the Great forbade the election of a new patriarch, and later, in 1721 abolished the Patriarchate in Russia by establishing the Holy Synod.

23Успенский собор.1Успенский Собор - интерьерУспенский собор - интерьер 25

ГРОБНИЦЫ СВЯТИТЕЛЕЙ

Close

Надгробие над захоронениями  митрополитов Киприана и Фотия В юго-западном углу собора расположены гробницы двух митрополитов – Киприана (умер в 1406 году) и Фотия (умер в 1431 году). Гробницы находятся рядом под одним металлическим надгробием, близ шатра для Гроба Господня. Оба митрополита, серб и грек, оказали большое влияние на русскую культуру и историю Успенского собора: Киприан внес изменения в русский богослужебный устав, создал пространное Житие и Службу митрополиту Петру, при нем из Владимира была принесена чудотворная икона «Богоматерь Владимирская», для которой сделали золотой чеканный оклад. Митрополит Фотий восстановил разоренную после нашествия Тохтамыша казну, заказал приехавшим вместе с ним греческим мастерам новый золотой сканый оклад для «Владимирской» иконы и драгоценное напрестольное евангелие с миниатюрами и чеканным золотым окладом. (Теперь их можно увидеть в экспозиции Оружейной палаты).

Рака митрополита Филиппа с сенью Надгробия над захоронениями патриархов у западной стены собора Рака митрополита Ионы с сенью

 У северной стены, к востоку от раки митрополита Ионы, находятся гробницы митрополитов Филиппа I (умер в 1473 году), начавшего перестройку Успенского собора, Геронтия (умер в 1489 году), при котором завершилось строительство нового здания собора, Симона (умер в 1511 году) и Макария (умер в 1563 году). Макарий был крупнейшим идеологом и советником при молодом Иване Грозном, организатором и создателем грандиозных литературных проектов: Лицевого летописного свода и Великих Миней-Четий – обобщающего сборника житий святых, иконописца и создателя известной иконописной мастерской в Кремле.

Вдоль южной и западной стен собора располагаются гробницы патриархов Филарета Никитича (умер в 1633 году), отца и наставника молодого царя Михаила Федоровича Романова, патриархов Иоасафа I (умер в 1640 году), Иосифа (умер в 1652 году) и Иова (умер в 1607 году).

Иов был избран первым русским патриархом в 1589 году при царе Федоре Ивановиче. После падения Византийской империи и захвата православных балканских стран турками, богатая и независимая от иноземного владычества русская церковь впервые заявила о себе как о равноправной среди древних православных церквей. Выступивший против самозванца Лжедмитрия I после смерти Бориса Годунова Иов был лишен сана и отправлен в ссылку, где и умер в 1607 году. Мощи его были перенесены в Успенский собор патриархом Никоном в 1652 году.

У западной стены находятся гробницы еще четырех патриархов: Иоасафа II (умер в 1672 году), Питирима (умер в 1673 году), Иоакима (умер в 1690 году), способствовавшего созданию первого высшего учебного заведения в России – Славяно-греко-латинской академии, основанной братьями-греками Лихудами в 1685 году, и, наконец, последнего патриарха Адриана (умер в 1700 году), после которого царь Петр I запретил избрание нового патриарха, а позже, в 1721 году, упразднил патриаршество в России, учредив Священный синод.


top