WALL-PAINTING

Close

In 1481, two years after the construction of the Cathedral the far-famed icon painter Dionysius, the priest Timofei, Yarets and Konya were charged with the delicate task of decorating the church and it’s three-tier iconostasis. Presumably, Dionysius and his assistants painted the chancel screen and the walls in the chancel in a mural painting technique at the end of 15th – the early 16th century. A small part of these very ancient frescoes can be seen today.

In 1513-1515 by decree of the Grand Prince of Muscovite Vasily III the Cathedral was entirely painted. Due to the fire in 1626 the frescoes were severely damaged. The walls were repainted in 1642-1643 in the time of Tsar Mikhail Feodorovich. The work was performed by some 150 skilled painters from Moscow and other Russian cities led by the court icon painters Ivan and Boris Paiseins, Sidor Pospeev, Bazhen Savin, Mark Matveev and Stepan Efimiev.

Interior of the Assumption CathedralInterior of the Assumption CathedralInterior of the Assumption CathedralInterior of the Assumption Cathedral

The painters spent the first year on an extensive preparatory work. The 16th century themes and the arrangements of paintings were to be repeated in the course of renovation. Therefore Ivan Paisein and his assistants draw patterns with papers against the walls and only after that they broke the old plaster off and applied a new chalk ground. In the summer of 1643 the work was mainly done. The magnificent ensemble of the murals in the Assumption Cathedral pieces together 249 thematic compositions and 2,066 individual characters. 1,721 gold coins were spent on gilding the background.

The painters used both techniques of mural painting and tempera painting on dried plaster, thoroughly drawing representations of faces, folds of robes again and again, assimilating wall-painting to icon-painting.

The mural of the Cathedral is well-thought-out and clearly arranged. There are various representations of God in the cupolas and the upper section of the Cathedral’s walls is illustrated with the Scenes from Gospel. They are arranged according to the succession of divine services during a year. The wall-paintings of the next two tires tell the life story of Our Lady and illustrate “The Acathistos", a hymn of worship of the Mother of God. Seven Ecumenical Councils are depicted in the lower tier. The Cathedral’s western wall accommodates an immense composition The Judgment Day. The pillars that support the vaults bear the images of numerous martyrs.

23Успенский собор.1Успенский Собор - интерьерУспенский собор - интерьер 25

СТЕНОПИСЬ

Close

В 1481 году, после освящения нового храма, духовник великого князя и видный политический деятель ростовский архиепископ Вассиан «дал сто рублев мастерам иконникам, Денисию, да попу Тимофею, да Ярцу, да Коне» писать в Успенский собор иконостас. Вероятно, эта же артель мастеров во главе с прославленным Дионисием в конце XV-начале XVI века расписала в технике фрески алтарную преграду собора, и   его алтарные помещения. Частично эти самые древние фрески не только Кремля, но и Москвы сохранились до наших дней.

В 1513-1515 годах по указу великого князя московского Васи­лия III храм был расписан целиком. Каким он стал тогда, мы, к сожалению, пред­ставить не можем. Пожар 1626 года очень сильно повредил все фрески.    И в 1642 году царь Михаил Федорович указал расписать Успенский собор стенным письмом заново. Для выполнения этой работы было призвано около ста пятидесяти искусных живописцев не только из Москвы, но и из многих других русских городов. Возглавили эту большую артель художников царские изографы Иван и Борис Паисеины, Сидор Поспеев, Бажен Савин, Марк Матвеев, Степан Ефимьев.

Интерьер Успенского собора.Интерьер Успенского собора.Интерьер Успенского собора.Интерьер Успенского собора

В первый год провели подготовительные работы. Следуя царскому указу, живописцы должны были повторить состав и расположение росписей 1515 года, для чего Иван Паисеин и его помощники сняли с них на бумагу контурные переводы и лишь после этого сбили старую штукатурку со стен и нанесли новый левкас. В течение одного летнего сезона 1643 года в основном завершили работу по украшению живописью интерьера Успенского собора. В общей сложности было написано 249 сюжетных композиций и 2066 отдельных фигур, на позолоту фона истратили 1721 золотой червонец.

Живописцы использовали смешанную технику фрески и темперной живописи по сухой штукатурке, тщательно и многократно прописывая лики, складки одежд, уподобляя настенную живопись плотному иконному письму.

Роспись Успенского собора отличается продуманностью, ясностью построения. В главах помещены различные образы Бога, верхние части стен занимают иллюстрации Евангелия, их расположение соответствует последовательности богослужений в течение года. В двух следующих ярусах помещены Житие Богоматери и иллюстрации посвященного ей торжественного гимна – Акафиста. В нижнем ряду написаны изображения семи Вселенских соборов. На западной стене помещена огромная композиция "Страшный суд". На круглых столпах написаны многочисленные фигуры мучеников.


top