CEREMONIES AND RITES AT THE ASSUMPTION CATHEDRAL

Close

Not only was the Assumption Cathedral the All-Russian cathedral church, but also it was an important public place, where grand ceremonies and rites of the national significance were conducted.

The first rite of inauguration of the grand prince in the Assumption Cathedral was carried out on 4 February 1498. During the ceremony Ivan III solemnly bestowed ancient regalia—barmy (regalia collar) and the Cap of Monomach—to his grandson Dmitry. There was no such a title in Russia before, as the title of grand prince was only inherited along with the patrimonial estate. And during the Mongol invasion yarlyk (edict of the Horde Khan) was given to princes in the Horde allowing them to govern a certain territory.

Anointing of Dmitry Ivanovich (grandson of Ivan III)Anointing of Ivan the TerribleAnointing of Ivan the Terrible

The inauguration of the young Ivan IV, which took place in the Assumption Cathedral on 16 January 1547, was a key event in Russian history. The titles of tsar and sovereign were solemnly and formally adopted at the ceremony. A pectoral cross, indicating of the sanctity of the Royal power, was incorporated as regalia along with sceptre and chain. Later the solemn rite of anointing with holy oil, symbolizing deity of the tsar’s power, was introduced at the inauguration ceremony of Fyodor, the grandson of Ivan IV.  Boris Godunov at his inauguration on 1 September 1598 was given the orb along with the scepter. It represents an ancient symbol of power of Byzantine emperors. The last inauguration was a joint enthronement of the young rulers Ivan and Peter, sons of Alexey Mikhailovich, in 1682.

In 1721, Peter I was invested with the title of emperor. He declared Russia an empire and introduced the ceremony of coronation. The rite was carried out for the first time for Catherine I, who was bestowed with the crown by her husband Peter I. The last sovereign to be crowned in the cathedral was Emperor Nicholas II. His coronation took place on 14 May 1896.

Anointing of Mikhail RomanovAnointing of Mikhail RomanovProcession at the Cathedral Square

Hierarchs of the Russian Church—metropolitans and patriarchs—were conferred titles at the Assumption Cathedral. Until the mid 15th century Russian metropolitans had to visit the Patriarch of Constantinople to obtain the title. In 1448, Metropolitan Jonah was elected at the cathedral for the first time by the Council of Russian bishops. This marked the beginning of the independence of the Russian metropolis from Constantinople. Anointing of the first Russian patriarch Job by Jeremias II Tranos, the patriarch of Constantinople, took part at the Assumption Cathedral on 26 January 1589 in the presence of Tsar Feodor Ivanovich.

The Cathedral has become the burial place for the heads of the Russian Orthodox Church in the 14th - 17th centuries. The holy relics of Moscow miracle-workers Peter, Jonah, Philip II and Hermogenes rest here in precious shrines.

Coronation of Empress Catherine IICoronation of Alexander IIInterior of the Assumption Cathedral for the coronation of the Emperor Nicholas I

There were other events taking place in the Assumption Cathedral as well. Since olden times appanage princes and other titled persons swore fealty to the great princes of Moscow and later to the tsars near the tomb of Metropolitan and Miracle-worker Peter and the main Russian sacred object—the icon of Our Lady of Vladimir. Besides, voivode and princes were given the blessing here before the important military campaigns and they celebrated their triumphs with solemn church services.

Consecration of anointing oil and chrism was carried out in the Assumption Cathedral. These aromatic oils were used for sacraments such as extreme unction, christening, ordination of priests, and anointing of a tsar at his coronation.

Various rites were held inside the cathedral’s walls. A dramatized rite commemorating the story of three Babylonian youths having been thrown into a fiery furnace for their desire to keep loyalty to Orthodoxy and not to worship pagan deities, involved a wooden furnace having been installed at the center of the cathedral, and an angel painted on a parchment descended from above the iconostasis.

Other rites included pronouncing an anathema against apostates, as well as patriarch shedding water from a special basin on the legs of 12 archimandrites—the heads of the monasteries—symbolizing the ablution of the Apostles’ legs by Jesus Christ as a token of humility and brotherly love. The congregation was sprinkled holy water on too.

The weddings were as a rule carried out in the grand princely family church of the Annunciation. However the weddings of a state significance were held at the Assumption Cathedral. For example, Grand Prince Vasily I Dmitriyevich led to the altar with Lithuanian Princess Sophia, daughter of Vytautas the Great; the marriage ceremony was performed by Metropolitan Cyprian in 1391. The solemn wedding of Ivan III and Sophia Palaiologina also took part there in 1472. Vasily III got married to Solomonia Saburova in 1505 and later to Elena Glinskaya, the mother of Ivan the Terrible, in 1526 at the Assumption Cathedral. The wedding of Pseudo-Dmitry I and Marina Mniszech took place in the cathedral on 8 March 1606, during the Time of Troubles and the Polish–Lithuanian intervention. The wedding of Emperor Peter I and Catherine I, as well as her coronation, was carried out simultaneously there in 1721.

23Успенский собор.1Успенский Собор - интерьерУспенский собор - интерьер 25

ЦЕРЕМОНИИ И ОБРЯДЫ В УСПЕНСКОМ СОБОРЕ

Close

Успенский собор был не только общерусским соборным храмом, но и важнейшим общественным зданием, где проводились парадные церемонии и обряды, имевшие общегосударственное значение.

Четвертого февраля 1498 года в Успенском соборе впервые был совершен чин венчания на великокняжеский престол, во время которого Иван III торжественно возложил древние регалии – бармы и Шапку Мономаха – на своего внука Дмитрия. До этого на Руси не существовало подобного чина: великокняжеский титул передавался по наследству вместе с вотчиной, а в период монголо-татарского ига ярлык на великое княжение вручался князьям в Орде.

Венчание Дмитрия  внукаВенчание на царство Ивана ГрозногоВенчание на царство Ивана Грозного.

Ключевым событием русской истории стало венчание на царство юного Ивана IV, совершившееся в Успенском соборе 16 января 1547 года. В чине венчания Ивана IV были впервые торжественно и официально приняты титулы царя и самодержца, а в число регалий включены наперсный крест, что свидетельствовало о святости царской власти, а также скипетр и цепь. Позже, при венчании на царство сына Ивана IV Федора, было введено таинство миропомазания – символ богоизбранности царской власти. Во время венчания Бориса Годунова 1 сентября 1598 году ему, вместе со скипетром, была вручена держава или, как ее именовали тогда, «яблоко державное» – древняя инсигния власти византийских императоров. Последним венчанием было совместное возведение на престол малолетних правителей Ивана и Петра Алексеевичей в 1682 году.

В 1721 году царь Петр I принимает титул императора, объявляет Россию империей и вводит обряд коронации. Впервые этот обряд был проведен при коронации Екатерины I, жены Петра I, который сам возложил на нее корону. Последним в Успенском соборе 14 мая 1896 года короновали императора Николая II.

Миропомазание царя Михаила РомановаВенчание на царствоШествие на Соборной площади

В кафедральном Успенском соборе поставляли глав Русской церкви – митрополитов и патриархов. До середины XV столетия русские митрополиты должны были ездить к патриарху константинопольскому на поставление в сан. В 1448 году митрополит Иона впервые был избран здесь собором русских епископов, что фактически положило начало независимости русской митрополии от Константинополя. Двадцать шестого января 1589 года в Успенском соборе совершилось поставление в первые русские патриархи Иова Иеремией II, патриархом Константинопольским, в присутствии царя Федора Ивановича.

В XIV – XVII веках собор служил усыпальницей глав Русской Православной церкви. Здесь в драгоценных раках покоится прах московских чудотворцев Петра, Ионы, Филиппа II и Гермогена.

Коронация императрицы Екатерины IIКоронация императора Александра II.Успенский собор к коронации императора Николая I.

В Успенском соборе проводились и другие действа. Издавна повелось, что у гроба митрополита и чудотворца Петра, а также перед главной русской святыней – иконой Владимирской Богоматери – удельные князья и «все чины» присягали на верность великому московскому князю, а впоследствии царю; воеводы и князья получали благословение перед важнейшими военными походами и отмечали свои триумфы торжественными молебнами.

В Успенском соборе происходило освящение елея и мира – благовонных масел, использовавшихся в священных таинствах при соборовании умирающих, крещении, рукоположении священников, а также миропомазании царя при его венчании на царство.

Ежегодно 17 декабря в Успенском соборе совершалось театрализованное представление «Чина пещного действа» в память о трех вавилонских отроках Анании, Азарии и Мисаиле. Как повествует библейское сказание, они были брошены в огненную печь по приказу царя Навуходоносора за отказ поклониться языческим идолам и спасены посланным Господом ангелом, усмирившим огонь, который «попалил» их мучителей – «халдеев». Для этого чина в центре собора устанавливалась деревянная печь, а из-за иконостаса спускался изображенный на пергаменте ангел. По окончании действа невредимые отроки и «халдеи» приглашались в покои патриарха, где их ждали угощение и дары.

Здесь же проводились другие чины и священнодействия, например «чин православия», то есть возглашение анафемы отступникам, еретикам и государственным изменникам и поминание «ревнителей христианского благочестия». А в четверг на Страстной неделе совершался чин омовения ног, когда патриарх по образу Христа, омывшего в знак смирения и братской любви ноги апостолам, возливал воду из особой лохани на правую ногу двенадцати архимандритам – главам монастырей. Водой из лохани кропили и прихожан.

Бракосочетания совершались, как правило, в домовой великокняжеской церкви Благовещения; лишь те из них, которым придавалось государственное значение, проводились в Успенском соборе. Так, в 1391 году митрополит Киприан обвенчал здесь великого князя Василия Дмитриевича с литовской княжной Софьей Витовтовной. В 1472 году, как уже упоминалось, состоялось торжественное бракосочетание Ивана III и Софьи Палеолог, в 1505 году Василий III обвенчался с Соломонией Сабуровой, а в 1526 году, вторично, с Еленой Глинской, матерью Ивана Грозного. Восьмого марта 1606 года, в период Смуты и польско-литовской интервенции, в Успенском соборе были обвенчаны Лжедмитрий с Мариной Мнишек. В 1721 году здесь происходило венчание Петра I с Екатериной I и одновременно ее коронация.


top